top of page
  • Writer's pictureChattyCarole

Positivity and Humour via Rick Bhullar, PT




Yesterday, I watched a live Youtube video presentation by Rick Bhullar, PT on nutrition, exercise and weight loss.


If you haven't heard of Rick, he is a Personal Trainer and former professional dancer. With COVID shutting down his business last year, he has moved to Youtube to offer his walking workouts.


AND I AM HOOKED!


These workouts are low impact (so great for my 43 year old snap-crackle-and-pop knees!), energizing and fun! They are packed with Rick's signature positivity. It's like dancing, so the time flies by! I find myself smiling and laughing, while getting my steps in and working up a good sweat. His videos range from 1,000 steps to 10,000 steps, so you can always find one you are comfortable with. Sometimes I do 2 or 3 of his walking workouts back to back. It took me several weeks to work up enough courage to try the 10,000 step workout. I've only done it once - it was tough but I'm so proud I did it! I really felt it in my legs the next day. I have to plan this one for a weekend when I have more time to complete it, and can recover the next day.


My fav workout is this one:


1800 steps in 15 minutes, all to great tunes and it makes me smile every.single.time. I encourage you to give it a try!


Back to yesterday's presentation.... it was supposed to be an hour, but it went on for 2 hours and I honestly could have listened for longer! It was chock full of excellent information - calories, nutrition, exercise.... and all peppered with Rick's positivity and humour.


He reviewed the science behind weight loss, and broke it down into very digestible pieces (no pun intended!). It all makes so much sense! He also described the latest fad diets, from the Tapeworm Diet to the Cotton Ball Diet. For real. I was floored by the extremes some people are going to to lose weight.


But at the same time, I get it! I once consumed waaaay too many laxatives to kick start my weight loss. Read all about it here:


I feel the frustration of stalled weight loss. I'm living it right now. I just can't seem to lose the last 12 pounds. Rick talked about low calorie diets and how they can actually restrict weight loss. I think that's what has happened to me. He mentioned that there was a way to fix it - to reset the metabolism. He didn't go into more detail, but I'm going to sign up for his private group so I can ask more questions.


Like I mentioned before, weight loss is really not that complicated - the science behind it, I mean. But actually DOING IT, well, that's a whole different story. I think finding support to keep you motivated is key.


I was really happy that my hubby joined me yesterday for the live presentation. He hears me laughing during my walking workouts and probably wonders if I've gone mad. He was really into the presentation yesterday and we talked about it throughout the rest of our day. It obviously had an impact on him as well. I love that! Now he sees what I see - a positive influence in Rick.


Stay tuned as I continue to try to crush carb cravings and cardio classes (via youtube workouts). This is my journey friends, and I'm beginning to realize there is no finish line.

22 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page