top of page
  • Writer's pictureChattyCarole

100 days

Updated: Aug 16, 2020


Today marks 100 days since I starting eating healthier. 100 days!!!


I have lost 28 pounds total! This morning's weight was 194.8 lbs. The last time I saw that number was before Christmas 2019.


I felt brave and adventurous today. I opened up my closet for the first time in a long time to see if there were any items that might fit me now. I located my capris and shifted through, choosing jean ones I had bought from Costco - size 16. I put them on with no problem! I found a tank top, size large, and that fit too!


I looked at myself in the mirror. I look good! I feel lighter - not just weight-wise, but spirit-wise. My eyes look bright and happy!


I saw a post on facebook recently that stuck with me: "Being overweight is hard. Losing weight is hard. Choose your hard." Ooh, soo good!!


Sandra Elia, food addiction counsellor, has won my love and respect! She is part of the Wharton Clinic, and I have participated in some of her "lunch and learns." I have also been watching her Youtube videos as often as I can. In addition, she is part of The Global Isolation Solution - which consists of a set of experts who discuss via videos a variety of topics that include physical and mental health, finances and happiness. I signed up for this so I get links to videos in my inbox every day.


Sandra's video as part of this series was excellent! It's like she can see inside my mind!! She talks about chemical engineers designing packaged foods that are highly addictive. Sugar is a drug....and people negotiate with themselves about how much to consume. It's easier to abstain from sugar than to figure out how much I can have.


I felt that in my soul. Sandra gets it.


As a recovering food addict who lost over 100 pounds, Sandra talks the talk and walks the walk. God bless her!


She talks about how highly addictive sugar is.... "just one bite won't hurt." How many times have people said that to me, or that I've said that to myself? Taking just one bite is not enough. I get that. It's a slippery slope that I've been down many, many times. I think my favourite part of her talk was, "I don't negotiate with lunatics, and there's a lunatic in my head (food addiction)." Go Sandra go!!


She says that sugar affects some people the way alcohol affects some people; some can handle it, while others become addicted.


Sandra talks about weight gain feeling humiliating. Going into work each day, a bit heavier. I felt the exact same way. I felt like I had to draw attention to it - like if I made a joke about it, then it wouldn't be so embarrassing. I would call out what I assumed others were thinking and make it funny so it wouldn't be the so-called elephant in the room. It didn't make it hurt any less.


I plan to watch more of her videos. I have a soul sister in Sandra. One of the best feelings in the world is to feel understood.


So on this momentous 100th day of healthier eating, I feel stronger, healthier, empowered and spiritually lighter. Good things are happening in this area of my life. The gift of wearing clothes I haven't worn in a long time is evidence of my hard work and dedication. I'm not gonna lie - it isn't easy some days. But today, I feel good and I'll enjoy that feeling and savour it, so that when the tough times come, I can recall that and stay the course.


5 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page