top of page
  • Writer's pictureChattyCarole

At the starting line


This is the long weekend in May….very different from last year! Happy to say that it’s finally stopped snowing, because snow in May is just further evidence that 2020 is crazy.


Last week, I was stuck at 208lbs. I was getting really frustrated! I tried eating less, I tried eating more, but nothing worked. Then I realized that I was probably only walking about 200 steps in a given day. Bedroom to kitchen table, to fridge, to bathroom, to laundry room….sitting on my butt for hours a day working. And when my workday was over, I would cook, clean up, watch tv and go to bed. Rinse and repeat. I was literally barely moving my body.


On Thursday evening, I left the house (woohoo!) and ran some errands. Normally, that amount of walking would be negligible in a normal day for me, but these be some very abnormal times. I kid you not, just by running errands, the scale finally budged. Halleluiah!!


So the next evening, I did some squats, leg raises, calf raises and stretches. Enough that my muscles felt tired. And the scale moved again.


Today my daughter got a new bike, so we went out together for about an hour, riding around our neighbourhood. Then her and I and my hubby went out again this evening for another bike ride. It felt great to get some fresh air and exercise!


Today is Day 43 on my eating plan and I weigh 206.4lbs. That’s 16 pounds lost! I can visibly see a difference. So can my hubby. But anyone else likely wouldn’t. After all, I went into isolation just a little heavier than this, and then gained weight from there. When I started this journey, I felt like I was standing waaay behind the starting line, then moving closer and closer to it, and now I’ve finally made it! My toes are just past that white line and now it feels like I’m beginning. The progress I make from this point on will feel more real because I have a point of reference. I left work in mid-March at 209 lbs. I won’t be returning at that weight, or hopefully anything even close to it. Cheers to being in the journey and waiting to see what it will bring!


PS. Update on the Wharton Clinic - they had a cancellation next week so my appointment is this upcoming Tuesday. I'm on vacation that day so I can better plan my day for this phone call.

9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page