top of page
  • Writer's pictureChattyCarole

Cinco de Carole!


Today is Cinco de Mayo but more importantly, it's my birthday!!


My 43rd birthday in quarantine.... now that's one for the books!


My plans for today are simple: to spend some time writing, to go for a walk and to hang out with my kids (origami with my daughter, maybe a conversation and - gasp! - even a photo with my son). We are having slow cooker ribs tonight - one of my favs!! I spent a fortune on back ribs yesterday at Sobeys - $50! Ridiculous and I wouldn't have spent so much money normally on ribs, but I didn't want take out tonight, which would have been even more expensive.


I weighed myself this morning and I am 209.0lbs. BOOYAH!! One of my milestones is to get below 209lbs so I hope to do that by the weekend.


You might be wondering if I will be having birthday cake today? The answer is, no. Hear me out: right now, I am making great progress. I am eating healthy, I am sticking to my plan, I am slowly losing weight. A co-worker used to say to me, one bite won't hurt you! But actually, it would. If I have a taste, I will only want more until I've eaten so much, I hurt. If I just refrain completely, it's easier for me. So what would happen if I did have birthday cake today? First, I would continue eating sweets because my brain would say, "you've ruined yourself! Might as well keep going!" Then, my blood sugar would SOAR and too much insulin would dump into my bloodstream and I would crave more sugar so I would eat more to feel better. Then I would feel sick later and in the morning, feel even worse when I step on the scale and see that I've gained 3 pounds. I kid you not. This has happened before.


So no sweets today; I will thoroughly enjoy my slow cooker ribs tonight, and I will go to sleep tonight not uncomfortable but full and content.


Once I've been on my eating plan for a while and I feel like I need to go off-plan for a break, I will certainly do that. But a month in is too soon and the slope is too slippery right now.


In a while, I will be at a healthier weight and will go off-plan for special occasions like birthdays and family gatherings. And I will, by then, be in a better place to enjoy this without losing complete control.


So next year? Hell to the yes, this gurrrl is having cake on her birthday!

11 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page