top of page
  • Writer's pictureChattyCarole

Popping Plateaus: When Weight Loss Stalls


I seem to hit a plateau every 7 to 10 lbs. And it SUCKS!!


I'm doing great, humming along, with the scale moving down and I'm feeling good about myself and then BAM! The scale stops moving. Then it starts up again, but it's now moving in the WRONG direction. This is so frustrating! I have not cheated on my eating plan, not even once. I get some form of exercise on most days. I'm trying to get adequate sleep. I take my vitamins every day. So what gives?


Maybe it's my body adjusting and sorting things out. I've hit a few plateaus along the way and I have popped them all. It doesn't make it less frustrating, but it does offer me some hope.


When I refer to my eating plan book, the author talks about weight loss on this eating plan being a curly-cue. It goes down, then up, and then down again. It isn't a straight line doooooown. So this is normal. That brings me some comfort.


To get through plateaus, I try to focus less on the scale and more on something that makes me happy, like a long walk or a bike ride or finally picking up a book I've been meaning to read. I try to distract myself from the numbers and find something enjoyable to take my mind off of my frustration.


By my next post, I bet I will have popped this plateau. I just need to not give up, and stay the course. And I need to remind myself how far I've already come.



9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page