top of page
  • Writer's pictureChattyCarole

Some great advice


My mouth fell open this morning.

I had been feeling frustrated at how slow weight loss has been, especially lately. I know that slow is good; it means that my weight loss has a higher chance of being permanent. But still…ugh!!!

My lovely hairdresser, while she was snipping away, wisely suggested that I stop weighing myself every day. It’s a habit of mine. I’m afraid my weight will spiral out of control if I don’t do it. Sounds crazy, but that’s how I feel. I need a daily check in. Trouble is, it sets the tone for my day, good or bad. If the scale moves down, GREAT! But if it moves up, I start analyzing what I did wrong – what I ate, did I move my body enough, etc. I know that weight can go up and down for all kinds of reasons. But I’m hard on myself.

So I took her advice. I stopped weighing myself every morning. I skipped Sunday, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. This morning, I decided I would see where things were at. And that’s when my mouth literally fell open. O!

187.0 lbs.

For reals. I have been stuck in the 190’s for weeks now.

Now I'm analyzing why it suddenly moved? Is it because I’m obsessing less about the number by skipping some days? OMG I need to stop analyzing! I need to stop trying to figure it out and just be happy!

I've lost 35 lbs. That's a small child! This motivates me to continue making healthy food choices and to move my body. It's working and I'm feeling better - physically and mentally. One pound at a time.

13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page