top of page
  • Writer's pictureChattyCarole

These keto cookies are killing me!

Updated: Aug 16, 2020


Warm cinnamon cookies with cream cheese frosting…

Oh yeah, these babies are GOOD!!

From my basic knowledge of Keto, it’s not unlike the eating plan that I follow: low carb and high protein with lots of veggies. But the difference is Keto is high fat, and my eating plan is low fat. And that’s where I made my mistake.

Nothing against Keto at all – it works so well for many people! But like I’ve learned, so does Weight Watchers, intermittent fasting, gluten free…. The kicker is, these plans just don’t work for ME. I can’t eat Keto fat bombs and lose weight. And that sucks.

I found this Keto cinnamon cookie recipe online and I looked at the ingredients carefully to be sure they aligned with my eating plan. I specifically focused on carbs. All looked good so I gave it a try! And they are delicious! The homemade frosting adds just the right finishing touch. So I made the cookies again, and again…. And again.

I was so happy to have found a treat that I could enjoy carb-free!

Two days ago, I sat in the kitchen enjoying my third cookie of the day, slathered in cream cheese frosting (I made extra!), when it hit me it: these delicious treats are made with a stick and a half of butter. And I’m downing them day after day. Looking at the recipe,I had focused on carbs only, not fat content.

This is stalling my weight loss. Damn it.

I have another blood test in about 2 weeks. I cannot imagine my cholesterol right now.

Not wanting to waste those cookies, I did finish them. And then I chose not to make them again for a while. They should be a sometime food, not an anytime food (in the words of Sesame Street).

I like to be able to have a treat of some sort every day – something that breaks up the monotony of grilled chicken and veggies and so.much.water. So I was totally bummed.

But I also want to continue to lose weight.

I thought back to when I had lost a lot of weight years ago. What was my treat then? AHA! It was homemade peanut butter cookies. No flour, only 5 ingredients. Quick to mix, quick to bake. The fat in the peanut butter is satiating but without all that butter, it is a lower fat choice. I used to eat 2 of these every day, back in the day. And I lost weight.

Last night, I baked a dozen peanut butter cookies. I ate one – yup, they are tasty but actually pretty dry like I remember them. So, I made a batch of light cream cheese frosting and put a dollop on top. Much better! Hoping this is a happy compromise.

Let’s see how this experiment goes! I’ll keep an eye on how I’m feeling and on the scale.

I don’t want to live my life without sweet treats. But I’m learning about my body. And I just want to be smart about it.


7 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page