top of page
  • Writer's pictureChattyCarole

Wharton Win


To date, I have now had 2 phone call appointments with the Wharton Clinic. Due to confidentiality, I suppose I shouldn't get into too much detail about them, but I do want to share a couple of general things about both appointments.


First, I spoke with a nutritionist and then with a doctor. The nutritionist recommended that I keep a food log or journal, either by using an app or pen and paper. I'm not a fan of tracking my food - I fear it adds to my OCD control issues. So we agreed that I would only do it for 3 days. That felt do-able. The food suggestions include more protein, more veggies, less carbs. Since I'm already doing that, I wasn't shocked or unprepared. I need to exercise more - both cardio and weight training. I agree! Crushing Carb Cravings and Cardio Classes? Yes please!


My second appointment went much like the first - a conversation with the nutritionist, followed by a chat with the doctor. The phone calls were 1 week apart and by the second phone call, I had lost 2 pounds (for a grand total of 19 lbs lost!! Hands up Party People!). The doctor was very happy to hear that and she cheered me on. It made me feel really good.


I learned that one of the women at the Wharton Clinic runs Zoom Lunch & Learns about emotional eating and food addiction. That really spoke to me so I signed up right away, and the first session was today. I think I found a soul sister! The facilitator described how it feels to take a bite out a favourite sugary/fatty/carby/salty food, and what that unleashes in the body - why it's so hard to put down that favourite food once you've had a bite. I was enthralled to hear it described in her words. She herself had been struggling with food and has lost 100 lbs! She talks the talk and walks the walk! I really enjoyed her positivity and encouraging words. I will definitely be back next week!

10 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page