top of page
  • Writer's pictureChattyCarole

Gaining some clarity

Updated: Aug 16, 2020

I want to start off this post with a note of gratitude to those who take the time to read my blog posts: thank you with all of my heart! I’m so grateful that you read and also comment. I’m always anxious to “hear” your thoughts. Wix doesn’t allow me to comment back, so all I can do is give you a sign of my love and appreciation (a “heart”).




Lately, I’ve been re-reading my eating plan book. I’m especially focusing on the science; I skimmed this all the other times I’ve read this book, but this time, I’m really trying to understand it. The author describes two types of metabolism: Met A and Met B. First, Metabolism A is what most people think about health: calories in and calories out. To lose weight, you must burn more calories or take in less calories. I believed this for most of my life; it’s pretty much what we are always taught.


But Metabolism B doesn’t work like that. It’s not about calories at all; it’s about the highs and lows of sugar, and the over-release of insulin. This results in a vicious cycle that can lead to a whole slew of health problems, including my biggest fear: diabetes. I saw how much my Nanny (my mom’s mom) suffered with diabetes, and it scares me that I could develop it.


To be clear, I have Met B.

The more I read her book, and the more I understand it, the more I realize that there was no way I could enjoy a healthy life while on a runaway carb train, or by fasting for hours a day, or by cutting down on calories or by exercising intensely. I could eat identical to my lovely sister, and she would maintain her weight while I would continue to gain. There is so much more that the author covers in her book; I really couldn't go into it all. Once I wrapped my head around sugar/insulin, I finally understood why I feel the way I do. There’s no better feeling than feeling understood.

Today marks Day 26 and I have lost 12 pounds (whenever I type a line like that, the announcer in my head goes something like this: In this corner, weighing in at 210.4 lbs, is a cheeky mama who laughs way too hard at jokes, and at inappropriate times!).


I didn’t take any measurements but my clothes are a little looser. I know there is tons of information out there about avoiding the scale and only taking measurements, but I use the scale and not the tape measure. There is also lots of info about NSV (non scale victories) which I celebrate! Like having an easier time tying my running shoes because my tummy is a bit smaller. Or this: A few days ago, I made chocolate chip donut holes with my daughter, and I didn’t even feel like eating any. If I can mix and bake a sugary treat like that, and not have intense cravings for it, then I’ve come a long way!

There were a few days recently when work was so busy, I hardly had time to stop and eat, or even pee! I noticed that my weight remained the same for those days. I was frustrated because I had figured that one silver lining to those extra busy days would have been more weight loss. I consulted my eating plan book and she explains that weight loss can slow or halt if I’m not eating enough. Once I began eating my regular amount, I started to lose again.

The author also stresses that I should eat often, at least every 4-5 hours. So unlike intermittent fasting, I can eat several times per day. She explains that liberal amounts of “neutral” foods are welcome, just not to overdo it. So a couple of spoonfuls of natural peanut butter is great, just don’t eat half a jar. Like I would ever do that (insert angel emoji).

As much as I’m busy at home with work and my kids’ online learning, I’ve been able to read snippets of this book here and there. I can’t count how many times I’ve read it before, but having tested out different ways of eating over this past year, and after gaining more weight than ever, I’m looking at things with new eyes.



12 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page