top of page
  • Writer's pictureChattyCarole

Oops, I did it again....

Updated: Aug 16, 2020

Intermittent fasting is not going so well and it's all my fault.


First, let's roll waaaay back to about 8 years ago when I tried Weight Watchers. It's a great program and lots of people have tremendous success on it. So I signed up, did my initial weigh in, and I was off to the races.


I lost 7 pounds. This is fantastic! But that's where it stopped. And it wasn't Weight Watchers' fault; it was mine.


So back then, and I believe it's kind of the same notion now, foods are assigned a points value. You are allotted a certain number of points and you can eat up to that many points per day, plus there are bonus points for special occasions.


So each day, I ate my points allotment. But.... I didn't choose healthy foods. I ate crap. Which often left me with a boring plain salad for dinner because I had used up all my points early in the day. Not exactly the point of the program, pun intended.


Fast forward to today....I'm trying out intermittent fasting. I eat only from 12pm to 8pm each day. I'm done a wee bit of research and most of it says to go ahead and eat whatever you want in the feeding window. OKAY! So I've done this....liberally. I figured that several hours of fasting plus my skipping a whole meal would equate to relaxing my eating for the allotted 8 hours. Yeah, no...not a good idea.


I got on the scale this morning for a check in... 219.8 lbs! Say what?! I've gained weight!


So I did some self-reflection and realized that I've done the WW thing I do, again. Oops!


My first thought was to go back to my strict, no carb eating plan again. It does work! But oh, it isn't sustainable. But wait, maybe I just need to re-adjust what I'm doing here. It's not time to give up on intermittent fasting. It hasn't failed me; I've failed it.


So today, I scaled back (ha! more puns!)....waaaay back..... on the junk food. On the crackers and on the chocolate and on the bakery items. I will keep doing the 12pm to 8pm window for eating but I'll eat healthier. And then I'll see where that gets me. Being accountable here should help to motivate me. Cheating the system only cheated moi!



13 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page